Meet the French Crime Series That Shaped My Main Character

Do you want to know the secrets behind the characters of Rabbit Fever? Well, I have a confession to make. One of them is inspired by a fictional character from a French crime series that I absolutely adore. Can you guess who it is?

It’s the main female protagonist, who also graces the front cover of my book. She is a complex and fascinating character, and I want to share with you where I got my inspiration from for her.

Her name is Josephine Karisson, and she is a character in Spiral, or Engrenages in French, which means cogs. I guess cogs and spirals have something in common: they are both intricate and interconnected, just like the plot of this series. It aired on BBC in the UK and Canal+ in France, and maybe in other countries too, but I’m not sure.

Spiral is one of my favourite TV shows ever. It has everything: drama, suspense, mystery, betrayal, corruption, and more. It also has multiple seasons, which is great because I can binge-watch it whenever I feel like it. (By the way, not everyone agrees with me on this. My partner is French and he thinks French crime dramas are boring and repetitive. He says they always use the same actors in different series, and he has a point. But I don’t care, I love it anyway!)

One of the reasons I love Spiral is Josephine Karisson. She is a brilliant and ambitious young lawyer, who will stop at nothing to get to the top. She doesn’t care about morals or ethics, she only cares about winning. She often takes on challenging, sometimes even shady, cases to prove herself and advance her career. But she also makes some bad choices along the way, which end up hurting her reputation and putting her in danger. She is played by Audrey Fleurot, an actress who I admire a lot. She always portrays captivating and complex characters, and I wonder if she is like that in real life. I would love to meet her someday!

So, how does Josephine relate to Rabbit Fever? Well, I thought she had some traits that I could use for my main character, Gillian. Gillian is also a strong woman, who has faced a downfall, who is determined to rise again, who has made some mistakes, and has a tarnished reputation. Of course, I didn’t copy Josephine exactly. Gillian has her own backstory and personality, and she faces different challenges and opportunities. But I did borrow some aspects of Josephine’s character, because I think she is a great example of a flawed but compelling heroine.

Are you curious to find out more about Gillian and the other characters in Rabbit Fever? Then don’t wait any longer, grab your copy today and immerse yourself in their world. And if you enjoy Rabbit Fever, you might also want to check out Spiral, if you haven’t already. It’s a fantastic show that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

If you want to learn more about Spiral, you can start with this Wikipedia page:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spiral_(TV_series)

Leave a comment

Discover more from My writing journey . . .

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started