Who are you?

Lately, I have developed a new addiction that might sound a little weird to some of you: I’m constantly checking how my book is performing on Amazon. As a novice author who is still learning the ropes of this industry, I’m quite pleased with the fact that I’m averaging one sale per day for my book, Rabbit Fever. But I also know that this is not enough to make a living out of writing, and I wonder how I can reach more readers and increase my sales.

However, there is another aspect of my book’s performance that is even more intriguing and frustrating to me: the Kindle Unlimited feature that allows me to see how many pages of my book are read on kindle devices. This feature is supposed to give me an insight into how my book is received by the readers, but instead it raises more questions than answers.

I’m always curious about how many readers are currently reading Rabbit Fever, and who they are. Are they young or old, male or female, single or married? What are their hobbies, interests, and preferences? How did they find out about my book, and what made them decide to read it?

Sometimes, the number of pages read in a day exceeds the total number of pages in my book, which means that there are more than one reader at the same time. This makes me happy, because it means that my book is attracting some attention and popularity. But it also makes me wonder how these readers are interacting with my book. Are they reading it from start to finish, or skipping some parts? Are they enjoying it, or finding it boring? Are they laughing, crying, or feeling indifferent?

Other times, the number of pages read spikes up suddenly, which makes me think that some readers are devouring my book in one sitting, or maybe just skimming through it. This makes me curious, because it means that my book is either captivating or disappointing them. Are they hooked by the plot, the characters, or the style, or are they put off by them? Are they eager to find out what happens next, or are they just trying to get it over with?

I can’t help but check the pages read every hour, even though I know I should limit myself and focus on other things, like writing my next book, or promoting my current one. I wish I could know more about these readers, what they think of my book, and how they feel about it. Are they fans who can’t get enough of it, or casual readers who just browse through it? Are they leaving reviews, ratings, or comments, or are they keeping silent? Are they recommending my book to others, or forgetting about it?

Am I being weird for wanting to know all these things? What do you think?

2 responses to “Who are you?”

  1. If I had a book out, I would be doing exactly the same.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think maybe though I need to limit my checking to a few times a day though!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Discover more from My writing journey . . .

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started