Grammar Gaffes to Prose Perfection: My Writing Transformation

Daily writing prompt
Describe a decision you made in the past that helped you learn or grow.

You might find this odd, but I decided to write a novel. Remember back in 2000 in the UK, schools didn’t focus much on spelling and grammar. In English classes, they were only 5% of our final grade. So, you could still do well even with lots of mistakes!

When I started working, I realized this was a problem. Luckily, I wasn’t the only one. Many of us had the same issues, and our bosses were not happy with how we wrote. It didn’t really hit me until later, when I saw my old emails and compared them to others’.

It was also clear that my partner, who learned English as a second language, knew more words and wrote better than me. So, I set a goal to write a novel of over 100,000 words. This was to help me remember what I learned in school and improve my writing skills. I focused on things like starting new paragraphs and building good sentences. It seems to have worked because no one who’s read my book has complained about my English yet!

Leave a comment

Discover more from My writing journey . . .

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started